So what are you going to play?

As you ponder what I’m sure will be the most important decision of your entire college career (perhaps your entire life), it might help to hear what others are considering.  So let’s start a comment thread on this post – let us know what games are “in play” for you.

  • Are you going console or PC?
  • Are you going to try something totally new, like a Kinect game on the XBox?
  • Any brave people want to wander in to the “World of Warcraft?” (be sure to leave a trail of bread crumbs)
  • Have you checked out Steam for downloadable games?
  • Are people still interested in Tiger Woods? (available in “slimeball” and “choir boy” editions)
  • Want to run amok in Grand Theft Auto? (not new, but still good)
  • What else!?!
16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jesse Song
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 01:28:59

    PC Indie gamer =) Cheap, creative, and unique games are the way to go!
    There was a pretty big sale for Steam during the holiday season and there was the humble indie pack being offered about a month ago.

    http://www.GOG.com is also a good site for older games, especially for those who do not have a powerful enough PC to run games.

    Steam is a good PC platform for mac users, since they have been working closely with apple to create a wider selection of compatible games.

    Reply

  2. Anthony
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 12:23:33

    Games seem to hit a sweet spot after about 1.5 – 2 years after they are released. That’s when the prices drop and you get the best bang for the buck.

    You might also consider asking around to find out what your friends or classmates have played, or even better, are playing. I would imagine it will be much more interesting to have someone to talk to about your game and play together with, than to play it in isolation. It’s also nice to be able to help each other out and work together, in the case of MMO’s for example.

    Finally, I’d strongly suggest finding a game that has room for multiple paths or multiple play styles. That will help keep things interesting as the semester drags on.

    Some great examples of “older” games in single player FPS style would be Fallout 3 (an FPS RPG, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7a1GVlC9SM, $19.99 on Steam)
    Portal (a FPS puzzle game, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TluRVBhmf8w, $14.99 on steam).

    For “older” FPS multiplayer games that offer a lot of variety in play styles, I’d suggest:
    Team Fortress 2 ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gv3XmD7-rk, $19.99 on steam)
    or Global Agenda (MMO, RPG, my personal favorite right now, http://store.steampowered.com/app/17020/, $it’s $30.oo on Steam, but I can give you a coupon for %50 off).

    Reply

  3. cmbelped
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 15:25:04

    I’m thinking I’m going to hit Fallout: New Vegas. I LOVED
    Oblivion and Fallout 3, and I’ve been waiting to get into New Vegas
    since it came out. Unfortunately other games I would’ve liked to
    play (Uncharted 1, Halo: Reach, Dead Rising 2, Starcraft 2, among
    others) I’ve already started and have been enjoying very much. But
    I love the customization options in the new Fallout games and the
    staggering number of quests/expandability via DLC, I can’t wait to
    dig into New Vegas.

    Reply

  4. jjtseng
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 01:25:06

    PC for sure since its more convenient, you can play
    anywhere! No need to borrow consoles, or crash a friend’s
    apartment. Emulators seem useful since its the combination of
    console and PC (best of both worlds), but I think I’m going to go
    with WOW since it’s one of the largest MMOs.

    Reply

    • Craig
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:37:42

      I tried WoW a year or so ago via one of those 10-day trial keys. I played with a friend of mine who’s been active for over 4 years on WoW….I got bored within the first 4 days. I don’t think I even finished my full 10 days haha. I just couldn’t stand the constant grinding and (for me, at least) the lack of an engaging story).

      More power to you for jumping in, though!

      Reply

  5. Megan Argillander
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 00:44:50

    Im a very inexperienced video gamer (unless I count the many hours I was forced to watch my brothers play). I have access to a Mac, Nintendo 64, and a Wii. Does any one have any suggestions about games for these systems?

    Thanks!

    Reply

    • Craig
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 10:51:36

      Megan, I suggest downloading Steam for the Mac ( http://store.steampowered.com/about/ ) and browsing the games available for the Mac from them (they have a specific “category” for games that can be downloaded for the Mac, both in the app and the store online, here’s the link: http://store.steampowered.com/browse/mac ). They have a wonderful selection of games, including big hits like Portal, the Half-Life franchises, as well as non-Valve games (Valve is the maker of Portal and Half-Life). They often have really good sales, too, so you can catch great games for great deals.

      Unfortunately, I don’t have much in the way of suggestions for the other 2. I did like Banjo-Kazooie, Perfect Dark, and Lego Racers on my Nintendo 64, but I’m not sure how difficult it will be to find these. The Wii might be easier….Mario Kart, any Super Mario game, Metroid, and some others are good. Don’t forget, with the Wii you can also play ANY GameCube game, so you may want to examine the GameCube game library to see if anything interests you, as well 🙂

      Reply

    • Candra G.
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 22:40:09

      Megan, if you want to try playing a console game, I agree with Craig about Super Mario and Metroid. I’ll also suggest the Zelda franchise. For the Nintendo 64, you can’t beat Mario 64 or The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (well, you can beat them by playing them, but you know what I mean 😉 ). Updated Mario, Zelda, and Metroid games are all available for the Wii.

      Reply

      • Craig
        Jan 12, 2011 @ 00:58:01

        ZELDA! How could I forget about Zelda? FANTASTIC game library to draw from right there. Wind Waker on GameCube and the new(er) Twilight Princess for the Wii.

        If you’d rather go the N64 route, Ocarina of Time is classic.

  6. Megan Argillander
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 00:35:46

    Thanks for the suggestions!

    Reply

  7. jvpapar
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 15:01:08

    Would mario party for N64 be a good choice for my game this semester?

    Reply

  8. Patrick
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 11:00:09

    I am restricted to my PC and a Playstation2. I don’t have enough faith in my computer to run large games seeing as it is all ready a couple of years old now and beginning to slow down. That leaves me with an outdated Playstatiton2. I have been a fan of RPGs for some time now. My favorite game I have played has been Golden Sun for the Game Boy Advanced. I think I would like to play an RPG for the class. I have heard a lot about the Final Fantasy series on the playstation console. Does any one have any input they gave give in regards to the final fantasy series? From what I have gathered online the fans favorite has been VII but I know little about the games.
    I plan to stay away from any of the sports franchises becasue I don’t even know if they make the most current editions for the Playstation2 anymore. I also don’t have/know the capabilities to play any games online, which will make any of the modern warfare games difficult. From what I have seen from those games, it is better to get an online account and play deathmatches over the internet. I thought one of these may be a possibility becasue in the past I have had liked the game Unreal for the PC. Without the capability of an online account I think I am going to have to rule a shooter game out.
    Any suggestions?

    Reply

  9. DavidBraid
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 11:27:21

    Agreed, N64 games are classics and definitely worth playing. And since I haven’t played videogames in a while, (circa middle school), I’m torn between picking an oldie but goodie or step in blind to the whole process and pick one of the newer games. My only concern is that a lot of them are known for sensory overload and I just don’t have the same patience/motivation to pay attention to all the necessary details that required to be successful at a game. “so whats the probelm?” Well, the gaming industry has grown to such huge proportions that I feel that if I’m going to put in a significant amount of time playing, I should at least explore a modern top seller. Ah, choice paralysis….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

