4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barryfishman
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 20:49:48

    Good call, Doug. I’ve been using 1Password for about 4 or 5 years now. I’ve got it on both of my Macs, my iPhone, and my iPad. It’s probably my most indispensable piece of software.

    Can I get the class a bigger discount? I don’t know. But I’ll ask!

    Reply

  2. DavidBraid
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 21:55:53

    that’s pretty neat. but isn’t it susceptible to being hacked? and then what? though these kinds of websites are very convenient and seem like a safe solution, nothing is ever safe once its floating in the cloud. i’d prefer to spend the extra 20 secs typing in my log-in information than risk anything from potentially happening. you can just make a password protected excel spreadsheet and set it up to be synced whenever you hook up your iphone, ipad, etc.. an easy way is to just have 3 columns, 1)webiste 2)log in name 3) passowrd.

    i may just be very cynical and paranoid but better safe then sorry.

    Reply

  3. Doug Sharp
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:22:58

    @DavidBraid

    -From my understanding, since the information is stored locally in the program on your computer, rather than on a cloud per se, it is less likely to be hacked…I think it syncs wirelessly with your iPhone/iPad, but it doesn’t store it anywhere (I could be wrong on this though…)
    -I used to do a password protected word doc, and I think this is essentially the same thing, but connecting the excel/word doc to the browser and doing the typing for you!

    @Professor Fishman

    -I’m impressed with how long you have had it! (You are obviously much more ahead of the curve than I am!)
    -And also, I love your use of Keynote in class…it is much more enjoyable viewing it than the typical ill-formated powerpoint presentation!

    Reply

    • Scott Tsuchiyama
      Jan 19, 2011 @ 13:13:45

      Doug is correct — while storing the info in the cloud is an option, the standard setting is that all the info is stored locally (and pretty strongly encrypted, too). This means that besides the benefit of not typing in your password for each site, the files containing your passwords are safer than if you were to use a password protected excel/word document.

      If you do use the sync feature, the data is still protected. It never transmits your master password from your computer or your device, and all the decryption is handled locally. It’s sort of like if I shipped you a locked safe and someone intercepted the package, they still would have trouble opening it because I didn’t send the combination along with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

