The “Educational” Games of my Youth Come to Facebook

As if I needed an excuse to be distracted at work, Carmen San Diego and Oregon Trail are coming to Facebook!

What’s interesting to me is that unlike, say, Farmville, Carmen San Diego and Oregon Trail are actually supposed to kind of teach you things. Like, for example, that even if you shoot an entire buffalo you can only carry fifty pounds back with you — even if you have, like ten kids traveling with you. (You know what I’m talking about, Oregon Trail players!)

So what do y’all think about this? Is it just a nostalgia fest for those of us who remember these games? Do these games teach anything? Are they ‘fun’? Anyone? Bueller?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. makarli
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 00:42:12

    I remember in the third grade, my teacher allowed the first four students that finished their work to go play on the two old apple computers until the rest of the students finished. The two games that were available to play were Oregon Trail and some other game that had to do with fish… I don’t remember the other at all though.

    I don’t exactly remember what Oregon Trail directly taught me from the game… I always felt bad when one of my oxen would get sick or a family member died, and I would get so mad if I died of dysentery. That’s all I remember, really.

    Although, I always hated anything that had to do with geography or history, but somehow I loved playing that game. Maybe it was the motivational prospect that my teacher enforced, but I always wanted to be the one to play. I don’t think I retained any historical information though.

    Reply

  2. Matthew Van Parys
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 07:19:34

    Both of those games were two favorites when i was a kid. The fact that they are coming to facebook makes me laugh, on principle i refuse to play FB games such as farmville and bejeweled blitz. But i might need to jump sides on this subject now. Any idea on how the gaming will be on FB with these two, because the last thing i want is to get all excited for these then have them be flops because someone just wanted to make a cheap knockoff with the basic programming skills they just picked up.

    If anyone finds anymore info on these two games i would love to hear about it.

    Reply

  3. jungnahm89
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 14:01:14

    I saw that the old classic Mario game is available on Facebook now. When we make a connection between old class games and social networking games, I’m sure there is more potentials for teaching children. Social network services are growing and still there are good elements in classic video games. There were limits when we played old classic video games back then, we weren’t able to collaborate or compete each other, but now with Facebook games or any other social networking games, we can overcome this limitation. I personally like Drawsomething, where you can learn how to draw creatively and new vocabulary as well. The Drawsomething is a game which collaborate elements from classic games and social networking games. If we can make games like this, there will be more educational potential for children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

