The Takeover of the Online Game

As I sat in lecture today and we talked about motivation and what makes someone keep coming back to a game, I sat puzzled in my seat thinking about the online video game. What makes these so popular?

We all play Candystand, Addictinggames, and Sporcle multiple times a day. What keeps us coming back? why do we play the simple games day in and day out? What makes them addicting?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Taylor Lewan
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 16:50:40

    One of the reasons why I believe that people keep coming back for me when playing simple games is just by trying to pass time. when I am waiting around for something I will pull out my phone and start to play a game called angry birds on my phone this game is extremely simple. you take these birds and catapult them into some structure trying to attack these green pigs that stole your eggs. this game is about as simple as it gets, and although I have beat the game before i will still come back to that game over and over again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

