NYT review of Dead Space 2

Somehow, reading a video game review in the “Old Grey Lady” (that’s an apt nickname for the New York Times) feels a bit like hearing your grandmother drop the f-bomb at the Thanksgiving table (funny story, ask me some other time…) But the NYT just loves Dead Space 2!

You may have noticed this game from its clever “Your mom hates this.” marketing campaign.

This is a game in the “action-horror” genre. Did you play the original? Do you play action-horror games? If so, do you find them scary in the same way you find horror movies scary? I generally don’t play this type of game, but I am curious. There’s also a version out for iPhones and iPads that is getting good reviews.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scott Tsuchiyama
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:28:03

    My first experience with a ‘survival horror’ game was the original Resident Evil, which I played in the dark at my cousin’s house as a terrified 13-year-old. I haven’t played that genre a whole lot since (mainly because those types of games stress me out), but I do think it’s interesting how much of a visceral impact they can have on a person. For proof of that impact, I’d highly recommend searching YouTube for reaction videos of people playing the game Amnesia: The Dark Descent. Be warned, though, as most of them contain not-work-safe language, and grown men screaming like small children.

    Reply

  2. Alec Wilson
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 18:39:52

    I downloaded the demo for Dead Space 2 and played through it a couple of days ago. My stepbrother had told me that the original was completely terrifying and (although he is a hardcore gamer) he stopped playing it less than halfway through. As I played through the demo for “2” however, I couldn’t help but feel that it was significantly less-than-terrifying. There were many points when the gameplay got intense (like when over 20 crazy monster-like children try to rip your arms and head off) and I was startled a couple of times, but I was never all that terrified. I couldn’t help but compare the game to Doom 3, where you walk around in the pitch dark and can never see or hear when you’re about to be attacked. I realize that this was only a demo though, and I still want to play the full game when it comes out to see if it gets scarier (I think it will). Also, the “Your Mom Hates Dead Space 2” marketing campaign was awesome. Just FYI, the demo and ad videos can be downloaded for free in the Xbox marketplace.

    Reply

  3. matthewberk
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 21:32:01

    I’ve seen those “your mom hates dead space 2” commercials and think they are brilliant! I would definitely want to play a game that my mom disapproved of

    Reply

  4. caramol
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 22:01:02

    To tell you the truth, I think that playing scary/horror video games are even scarier than movies. In movies, it’s like you’re on a train and no matter how much you don’t want to go forward, the scenes keep moving and you keep getting scared. Movies have definitive time allotments for suspense build up, then they scare the crap out of you. But when it comes to scary video games, the fact that you control the character and how long you take to progress through the game adds suspense. When you know something scary is coming up down the hall and around the corner, you creep down the hall really slowly. You’re not excited to get down there and see what’s going to happen. And the longer you take to get to that point, the more the suspense builds. Also the fact that scary crap sometimes just happens at random in a video game. When you play through a game where you have to kill zombies, the zombies will come from different places or attack at different times so you aren’t always expecting it (unlike a movie where you know when it’s coming if you watched it once already).

    The scariest thing in any type of horror media is the unknown and the unexpected….. And videogames have the unique ability to do this over movies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

