Digi-Ops experience; room for improvement.

So upon arriving at Digi Ops, it was nothing like I expected. To be honest I expected a lot more video game consoles than computers and I really didn’t expect the computers to be so isolated from each other. In my opinion, the point of playing video games, in part, is a social aspect. Gamers getting together to accomplish a goal. Whether it be defeating a boss, eliminating the opposing team or survival like in Left for Dead. I expected the computers/ consoles to allow for much more interaction but what we saw was little sections where gamers were isolated from others and the only way of communication was through a headset. Prior to going to Digi Ops, I felt like it would be a team building experience where teams could get to know each other, play different games, and of course play the assigned games so that teams could learn to work together as well as have a competitive aspect to it. While I felt that Left for Dead was a good game to play, I feel that the whole experience could have been done much better. I noticed that there were Xboxs set up and in much closer proximity to each other as well as in a much more open space. I feel like using those would have been a better alternative than the isolated stations that we ended up playing in. I talked to a couple of people in the class and they seemed to agree with my thoughts but these may not be the opinion of everyone. I thought that this would be a nice way to give feedback on the experience since we have no assignments pertaining to it and hopefully improve it for future classes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barryfishman
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 16:45:33

    Excellent points! I’d love to hear others’ thoughts on the DigitalOps experience. As I said in the opening lecture – we’ll experiment a lot in this class. DigitalOps is definitely one of those experiments, and I need your help to decide whether I should keep going there with future classes, and how it can be improved.

    -Barry Fishman

    Reply

  2. bfranks
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 13:41:25

    I enjoyed DigitalOps, especially left for dead. The only fault in my opinion was that you couldn’t communicate with your team, so if I got caught by a strong zombie, there was no way for me to call for help, or call to be revived. We didn’t have working headsets, so I think at minimum they need to have headsets operational, so you can talk to your team. Or as suggested, have the computers set up in bays of four, so you can be really close to your team.
    Because the Ship is an individual game, the set up works fine, because you don’t really want others seeing what you are up to.
    I also thought Little Big Planet was the worst game I’ve ever seen – they need to get rid of that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

