Grand Theft Childhood

I know we haven’t covered violence in video games yet, but I stumbled across this article and found it to be very interesting.  The site takes from a book called “Grand Theft Childhood:  The Surprising Truth about Video Games”.  The site goes over different facts and myths about violence in video games.  One of the most interesting facts that I found is that violence in youth and video game popularity have been moving in opposite directions.  In 1993, the United States faced a record high for violent juvenile crime.  Growing up I was always limited to the amount of video games I could play during the weekends.  I do not even want to fathom what my punishment would have been if I played during the week.  But the book title “Grand Theft Childhood”, I think this book perfectly fits my childhood.  I had to buy the fact that green vegetables were good for me, that I had to go to church every Sunday, and always had to hug my mother and show affection in public.  It’s funny that when you are young, you don’t really ask the question why to often and you tend to accept whatever ideals your parents place in front of you.  When more research comes out in the future about how violent video games aren’t directly related to violence, I wonder if the rating system for video games will be drastically changed.  Like I said before I know we haven’t covered violence in video games yet in this course, but finding these articles over the internet really make me excited to learn more about the subject.  Anyways if you haven’t seen this article yet I suggest you check it out.  Let’s just say I have already had counter arguments with friends and parents alike.  So it is some fun information to learn about.

http://www.grandtheftchildhood.com/GTC/Myths.html

Leave a Reply

Archives

