Computer intelligence in videogames becoming too real???

In my dynasty mode on NCAA I came across an interesting idea…are the games becoming too real and too intelligent? I would say that as of now we are becoming dangerously close to that answer being yes. I came across this conclusion while recruiting players in my Dynasty mode to convince them to come to the University of Miami. This would seem like it would be a simple enough task right?  but it in fact is not. Players from states as far away as Michigan are extremely against coming to Miami unless they are willing to overlook proximity to home in order to play for a title contender. Other players who really want to go to a rival school of Miami like Florida State would not come to Miami no matter how many recruiting pitches or promises I make to them. This absolutely amazed me at first, it made me think, wow! how is this game able to do all of this and still seem like a videogame as opposed to some sort of virtual workshop or demonstration. It has always intrigued me to think about the evolution of videogames and even more specifically, football games. I remember the days when a player barely had a choice on the plays they run let alone the players they recruited, their strength of schedule, or let alone their actual gameplay. So it is through playing in my NCAA dynasty mode that I have realized that videogames have truly taken a momentous leap towards closing the gap between videogames and real life. Whether this is a good or bad thing remains to be seen but one this is for sure, it is certainly happening…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brad Millman
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 01:19:02

    It is interesting because I am playing the same game and have found similar results. But, when looking at something like the case of Watson from Jeopardy, computers still have a long way to go.

    What makes us human is our emotions. Computers have an anagram that, if you play into it, can get a player to come across the country to your school. It does not have their emotional investment, but a programmed result.

    We will remain superior to AI until people figure out a way for a CPU to not have a predetermined action. Of course, the implications (good and bad) for this is a whole other argument…

    Reply

  2. Alex Rich
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 14:51:30

    First and foremost I do not think that there is such thing as too real or too intelligent. Too real and too intelligent are both absolute terms and I don’t think its safe to evaluate videogames in absolute terms. Moreover, when evaluating a videgogame and its potential effects on gamers I think we as critics must speak in relative terms and take things into account such as surrounding environment and game content. For example, if I am a high school student in Colorado and I want to become a pilot when I grow up is there really such a thing as a flight simulating game that is to real? In this situation what would be the possible downside of me being able to learn, by playing a videogame, most of the information necessary to fly a real plane? The answer is no. If anything, the realer the simulator the better because the realer the game is the more time I have to hone my skills as an adolescent from the safety of my living room and the less I have to learn when it comes time to attending flight school. However, one could also make the argument that in certain situations videogames can be too real. What if, for instance, I am an adolescent growing in Acapulco Mexico and am given a copy of Grand Theft Auto for my birthday. In this game I will learn the basics of operating weapons, drug trafficking and will have the notion that human life is worthless reinforced in my mind time and again. The finely tuned graphics and excessive blood and gore found in Grand Theft Auto may be enough to spur me to go pick up a handgun and hit the streets of Mexico in order to practice my newly learned skills, hence, this would be a circumstance where a videogame can be considered to real. In terms of videogames being too intelligent, the only danger that I see here has to do with videogames using intelligence to encourage negative behavior. In your NCAA example the fact that players base their recruiting decisions on their native climate makes sense because it enhances realism and introduces potential future coaches to the potential difficulties of college recruiting. However, if in this same videogame the game employs intelligence and gives me the option to bribe players as signing day approaches or if I see my teams recruiting diminishing I would argue that videogames are too intelligent and present serious risks to those who play them.

    Word Count: 420

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

