Mario Kart: Evaluating the Phenomenon

So I read one of the blogs posted earlier this week regarding videogame playing in dorms and it really got me thinking about my own experiences. Speaking as someone who has lived in the dorms all 4 years of his collegiate career I have seen videogames do everything from create a friendship between two people who one would think would never be able to relate on anything to damn near destroy friendships that have endured years of issues. I have played many different games in the dorms, everything from Fifa to Halo to Wii sports but I must say that the most transcendent game I have encountered would undeniably have to be Mario Kart. Now granted with the recent advances in technology, Mario Kart is available on many different consoles but I’m old school. Mario Kart on N64 is the best version ever made. It never fails, every time someone moves in with Mario Kart on N64 handy, people from all over the dorm gravitate toward their room to take part in the inevitable madness. This is something that has always made me smile because it is absolutely intriguing to see how my residents and res-hallers all over the country can play 20 games on an XBox or PS3 but own an Nintendo 64 for one reason, Mario Kart. Granted N64 has made some other valuable contributions that have stood the test of time as well such as 007 Golden Eye and Super Smash Bros. I have never seen a game as revolutionary and boundary crossing as Good Ol’ Mario Kart. I know that I am not the only person who can relate to this and if you are so unfortunate to be one of the unlucky few who cannot, invest in Mario Kart, a N64, and a few controllers and watch the magic unfold!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brad Millman
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 10:12:46

    Mario Kart was such a phenomenon because no matter what skill level you had, you just need to pick up the controller and race around a track. It worked for all ages and had some violence, some fun, and little skill. Of course, some people took it more seriously than others and learned the Easter Eggs and other shortcuts in the game but cheating is a part of the game, right?

    Reply

  2. gabood
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 13:59:16

    There’s nothing better than getting a group of 4 and playing a game like mario kart, madden, or nhl. We have a poster on a wall in our house that keeps the tally of wins and losses when we play each other. Its definitely a great way to interact, communicate and make friendships. You are also inadvertantly forming strategies and learning to interpret the strategies of your friends. When we are playing 2 v. 2, you also have to work well with you partner and communicate so you are on the same page. When its all 4 v. the computer, this becomes even more of a challenge. It will be interesting to see next class if there are things that transfer from playing video games while hanging in the dorm room to a virtual world where people are somewhat anonymous.

    Reply

  3. Brad
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 15:19:30

    I think they should transfer. That’s kind of what the WoW reading was about. You don’t necessarily need to know the ins and outs of your counterparts to work together to accomplish a certain goal.

    Reply

  4. bblender408
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 10:11:28

    I agree completely about Nintendo 64 being the best console for Mario Kart. While all of these other games are cool with amazing graphics and incredible detail, Nintendo 64 brought something these new games cannot. Nintendo 64 brought families together when playing games. These games were less violent, less confusing, and less intense. I remember playing MarioParty, MarioKart, and MarioTennis with my family and I have great memories playing these games with them. If we had owned an X-Box and tried to play Halo together, it would not have ended up the same way. Also, Nintendo 64 allows children from a young age to even adults enjoy the same video game. Having older brothers, this allowed me to join my brothers in an activity that I usually wasn’t allowed to do because of my age. Memories were built with Nintendo 64 and I will never forget them. I will always miss that game console.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

