Thank you Duderstadt!

I am not sure if any of you have been to the Duderstadt lately, but they recently set up a table on the second floor that has books about video games. I found a couple we had read in class, and some were more specific and focused in on particular video games. I checked out a philosophy book on Zelda, because I am playing Zelda: Ocarina of Time as my game of choice for the semester. It’s called The Legend of Zelda and Philosophy: I Link Therefore I Am. It is great to see that the University of Michigan has so much literature on the topic!

The book starts out with a quote that says: “Are video games as significant a cultural phenomenon as Shakespeare plays or Mozart symphonies?” After taking this class and playing Zelda I’d like to say yes. And this is coming from a girl that loves and respects both Shakespeare and Mozart. I believe that video games have the potential to change our current education system in the same way that Shakespeare changed literature and Mozart changed music forever.

The conversations we have exchanged with both Karen Brennan and Quest to Learn have shown me that video games are already being used as more than just recreation. Though my brother and his playing of League of Legends doesn’t seem all that productive, it at least provides him with an outlet from what is already a highly stressful ninth grade. However, I hope that what is now an escape for him could be integrated into the school system not just in the states, but internationally as well.

I’ll keep you posted with any other insights from what is turning out to be a really interesting book!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. brad millman
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 11:36:40

    That is amazing! That is why the University of Michigan is so great as a research institution. I wonder if the literature on video will be expanding more and more as they become more relevant to daily life

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

